new-american-ultra-posters-arrive-for-comic-con-new-poster-for-american-ultra-497864

If i had to give this a rating between 1-10, I would give it a 6. Its not great, its not awful, its just EH. If you’re unaware of the movie here is a basic synopsis:

A small-town stoner (Jesse Eisenberg) discovers that he’s actually a lethal sleeper agent, part of a program to develop a supersoldier. When shadowy government forces decide to eliminate him, he and his girlfriend (Kristen Stewart) must fight for their lives. This action comedy reunites Eisenberg and Stewart, who previously played a couple in the 2009 coming-of-age film Adventureland. Topher Grace, Tony Hale, John Leguizamo, Bill Pullman, Connie Britton, and Walton Goggins co-star.

Don’t get me wrong, there are a lot of good calls made in the movie. Kristen Stewart, who is known for her lack of performing in films, actually didn’t suck for once. She wasn’t even the thing that ruined the movie. For once her acting was actually quite convincing and she wasn’t so awkward. Maybe it’s something that she has finally grow out of. We can only hope.  Jesse’s performance as a dim witted stoner was believable as well. Even once he is activated he still has his dumb stoner moments with a poor thought process on details.

I guess I’m just a stickler when it comes to details. I have questions. One of them is how can the main character afford a trip to Hawaii for him and his girlfriend when he works at a shitty grocery/convenient store?  Plane tickets aren’t cheap and hotel bookings and cancellations don’t come free. I get that as an unknown secret agent they were probably somehow paying him, but if he was unaware of his abilities, he would also be unaware of the hidden bank account and even though his girlfriend knows the whole time, she didn’t exactly know that the trip was happening at first. it’s details like that that drive me nuts.  Also, who thinks its ok to train a bunch of psychos and lunatics for government purpose? Who in their right mind thinks that that is OK? Anyway I digress. This isn’t getting me to my ultimate point which is why the movie kind of blew.

Its categorized as an action comedy.. ITS NOT EVEN THAT FUNNY!!!!!!!! There are about 3 “HA HA HA” moments and that is it. Maybe my expectations were just too high on this movie, since every other movie that I’ve seen in the theaters this summer has been on point. This one,  I’m deeply disappointed that I spent $10.50 on a ticket.  I should have just waited for it to come up to queue on Netflix or just paid 2 bucks for a rental at Red Box (RIP Blockbuster).  Not to mention the money i had to throw down for some candy and a soda the size of a newborn child.

