i hate that I got hurt at work. This sprained ankle has ruined a lot for me. My whole summer, my social life, and my dating life. I work for the post office.  I thought it would be great to be working for government organization that was unionized and had great benefits. When I got hurt I was told that it was MY FAULT.  That i wasn’t working safely.  Apparently they believe that I can ahead of me and down at the ground simultaneously.

When I got hurt I rolled my right ankle outward and felt a pop.  It hurt at the time, but I didn’t think it was going to be all that big of deal.  I’d go home and ice it and it would be fine the next morning…. Boy was I wrong.  I woke up in the middle of the night with the worst pain I’ve ever felt. My ankle had ballooned to 10 times its size.  When I went to the urgent care center, I was told that I had a sprain. They gave me an air cast and that was that.  They also had to fill out a sheet for work for the Dept. of Labor.  On that sheet she put that I could return to work on light duty only five days after my injury.. FIVE DAYS..

There is no sitting at work. It’s all walking and standing and driving.  How the hell is my ankle going to heal in only 5 days, and how would it get any better when I’m on the ankle for multiple hours 6 days a week…..Is this making sense to anyone?  Because the doctor put my “back to work” status up so quickly, the Dept of Labor refuses to pay for the 4 additional days that I didn’t go to work, you know, BECAUSE I COULDN’T FUCKING WALK OR STAND.

I’m more than irritated.  I want to work to get the hours, but the more i stand/walk on my foot, the more i want to saw it off at the end of the day.  I’ve worked so little that I can’t pay all of my bills.  And these bills are the big ones. The car insurance and the car payment.  Without those I can’t get to work. I’m $300 short for paying bills alone.  That doesn’t include my living expenses.  That’s no money for food or for gas that goes in my car for two weeks.  And then lord knows how little the next paycheck could be and I could be right back in this same position.

I can never catch a break. It’s always something. Every time I think I can get ahead of the game I end up having to fall 4 steps behind.  I can never keep up no matter how hard I try.  It’s frustrating and belittling and depressing.

